Nevada NightHawks
Honolulu Honu
37 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Honolulu Honu

Honolulu Honu

Honolulu Honu (Cassidy) Empty
PostSubject: Honolulu Honu (Cassidy)   Honolulu Honu (Cassidy) EmptySat Dec 10, 2022 1:49 am

Aloha Everybody! My name is Cassidy Dunsmore and I currently live in Newark, Delaware. Obviously, that's a far ways away from what my team name would suggest... I was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii and eventually found my way to the east coast. For those who might not know, Honu is the Hawaiian word for sea turtles and is a popular and important cultural icon among the islands. It is considered an 'aumakua, which is a sort of ancestral spirit that watches over and protects you and your family. Although I'm not Hawaiian (I'm half white half Chinese and almost went with 'Beijing Dragons'), I feel a deep connection and tie to my home state. The last step to make sense of my team name is I'm an English teacher and had to go with some alliteration, which ruled out the Beijing Dragons. So, Honolulu Honu it was... It's the first time I've had this name and I only came up with it after reading and learning all about Roster Wars. I already love it, so thank you guys for helping inspire a new alias!